This video features a compelling presentation by renowned physicist Dr. William Happer at the National Leadership Seminar, sponsored by Hillsdale College, on February 19, 2021, in Phoenix, Arizona.

William Happer is the Cyrus Fogg Brackett Professor Emeritus in the Department of Physics at Princeton University, where he received his Ph.D. A Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, he has served as Co-Director of the Columbia Radiation Laboratory, Director of Energy Research in the U.S. Department of Energy, Chairman of the Steering Committee of JASON, Co-Founder of Magnetic Imaging Technologies Inc., Founder and first President of the CO2 Coalition, and Deputy to the President and first Senior Director of Emerging Technologies at the National Security Council. He is the recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Award, Broida Prize, Davisson-Germer Prize from the American Physical Society, and Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award.

The Independent Institute is a non-profit, non-partisan, public-policy research and educational organization that shapes ideas into profound and lasting impact through publications, conferences, and multi-media programs. Our mission is to boldly advance peaceful, prosperous, and free societies grounded in a commitment to human worth and dignity.


“How to Think about Climate Change,” by William Happer


“Hot Talk, Cold Science: Global Warming’s Unfinished Debate,” Third Revised and Expanded Edition, by S. Fred Singer with David R. Legates and Anthony R. Lupo, with forewords by Frederick Seitz and William Happer

“Nature Unbound: Bureaucracy vs. the Environment,” by Randy Simmons, Ryan M. Yonk and Kenneth J. Sim

“Rethinking Green: Alternatives to Environmental Bureaucracy,” edited by Robert Higgs and Carl P. Close

“Aquanomics: Water Markets and the Environment,” edited by B. Delworth Gardner and Randy Simmons

“Electric Choices: Deregulation and the Future of Electric Power,” edited by Andrew N. Kleit, with a foreword by Pat Wood III

“Crisis and Leviathan: Critical Episodes in the Growth of American Government,” by Robert Higgs, with a foreword by Arthur A. Ekirch, Jr.

“Beyond Politics: The Roots of Government Failure,” by Randy Simmons, with a foreword by Gordon Tullock

“In All Fairness: Equality, Liberty, and the Quest for Human Dignity,” edited by Robert M. Whaples, Michael C. Munger, and Christopher J. Coyne, with a foreword by Richard A. Epstein



Original video on YouTube: